A Winter Worth Noting

2014! I’m finding time to enter a blog post today despite the cold and snow that came this last week. What a strange winter. We had two winter thaws that were much warmer than usual; one around Christmas which put us in the 50s and 60s  for several days, then once again in mid January. I’ve never seen a winter day here with crystal blue skies and 50F, in the middle of January. As welcome as that January thaw was, what the winter put out in-between and after theses warm days was harsh, bitter cold, and a lot of it. We got over twice the number of below-zero days as what we would normally, and we have another one tonight. I had some frozen soil in the high tunnel for a brief period, which has never happened before. Having said that, the spring garden is underway indoors.

Lettuce and onions

Lettuce and onions

Buried in snow

Buried in snow

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The first sowings are for one of our camps coming up in early May together with some direct seeding of baby spinach and mesclun going in on the 21st of this month. Carrots will be direct seeded tomorrow. I spent a number of days building the spreadsheet planner for this year. I’ve got about 20 “events” to plan for that will end November  16, and everything has to be sown at the right time to harvest. What makes it most difficult is taking into account the lengthening and shortening days as the year progresses. Planning the appropriate seeding date can be tricky.

High tunnel beds

High tunnel beds

Twenty degrees out, sixty inside.

Twenty degrees out, sixty inside.

 

I’ve got all my seed ready and plan on a bigger garden area this year. A larger high tunnel is planned as well. My desire is to cover more area (32 long x 24 wide) so I can extend the season to more ground. The new tunnel will be a profession kit with sliding doors, roof vents, etc. Very exciting. More garden beds are going to go in behind the high tunnel as well as out near where the berries are planted. I’ll be sure to keep you all in the loop as things are happening.

Another change I’ve incorporated into my gardening plan this year is how I’m saving seeds. I’ll make that my next post coming up shortly. I think it’s important to mention because saving seed is something that most of us gardeners do, and doing it right is important. In the mean time, here are some more pictures of our wonderful winter wonderland….NOT.

Our winding winter trail to the garden

Our winding winter trail to the garden

Almost there!

Almost there!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_0311

 

Leave a Reply

